Monday, July 09, 2012

Congratulations to the 2012 New Tacoma Award Nominees!

Each year the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber recognizes individuals, businesses and organizations making outstanding contributions to downtown Tacoma with the New Tacoma Awards.  This year the Chamber, in coordination with sponsors Cascade Regional Blood Services and Absher Construction, will honor nominees and winners at the Chamber Luncheon on July 13th at the Pacific Grill Event Center.  For more information on the program and to register, please visit the Chamber's website.

The 2012 New Tacoma Award Nominees are:

The Ghilarducci Award recognizing successful new development, renovation or beautification:
  • 21st Street Park
  • LeMay - America's Car Museum
  • Old Post Office
The Popham Award recognizing the individual that has done the most to build community spirit:
  • Athena Hitson, The Space
  • Melanie Rushforth, Tap into T-Town
  • Tim Waer, Tacoma Sports Commission
The Public Places Award recognizing the best activation of a public park, open space or right-of-way:
  • Frost Park Chalk Off
  • Polar Plaza at Tollefson Plaza
  • Temporal Terminus: Marking the Line along the Prairie Line Trail
  • Words at Tollefson Plaza
  • Wright Park Sprayground and Playground
The Schoenfeld Award recognizing exemplary performance and pizazz as a retailer or restaurateur:
  • 1022 South
  • Corina Bakery
  • Stink
  • The Swiss
The Union Station Award recognizing organizations, companies or individuals that have built or sustained momentum for revitalization:
  • Downtown: On the Go!
  • First Night Tacoma-Pierce County
  • Stadium Thriftway
  • Tacoma Farmer's Market (2010 Winner)
  • Voices of the City Initiative
Congratulations to all the nominees!  For a list of prior winners, please see the Chamber's website.  We look forward to seeing you on July 13th.

No comments:

Post a Comment