Thursday, February 03, 2011

Nominate a Downtown Leader for a New Tacoma Award

It’s time again to honor the individuals, organizations and businesses leading the revitalization of downtown Tacoma with the annual New Tacoma Awards. Last year the Chamber recognized Pacific Plaza, Derek Young, Children’s Museum of Tacoma, Stan Selden, Dragonfly and Doyle’s Public House for their commitments to downtown. A complete list of past winners is available here.

The Chamber relies on our downtown community for nominations for these awards. Nominate a community leader today!

2010 New Tacoma Award winners will be recognized at the City Center Luncheon on April 1st – SAVE THE DATE!

What: City Center Luncheon and New Tacoma Awards
When: April 1st, 2011
Time: 11:30 a.m. (registration), 12:00 p.m. (program) to 1:30 p.m.
Location: Courtyard by Marriott, Cascade Ballroom, 1515 Commerce St., Tacoma

Sponsored by Absher Construction Company

The New Tacoma Awards honor recipients in the following categories:

Public Places Award (new award category!) – Recognizing the best activation of a public park, open space or area in the public right-of-way

Ghilarducci Award - Recognizing successful new development, renovation or beautification

Popham Award - Recognizing the individual that has done the most to build “community spirit”

Union Station Award - Recognizing leading organizations, companies or individuals that have built or sustained momentum for revitalization

Schoenfeld Award - Recognizing exemplary performance (and pizzazz!) as a retailer or restaurateur

Award nominations are due no later than 4:30 p.m. on February 28th, 2011. A complete description of the award categories, rules, and an on-line nomination form is available at

To reserve your seat at the City Center Luncheon register on-line at or contact Cathy at the Chamber,, 253.627.2175

No comments:

Post a Comment