Wednesday, January 20, 2010

Nominations sought for outstanding contributions to downtown

Each year the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber’s New Tacoma Awards recognize businesses and individuals leading the revitalization of downtown Tacoma. Last year the Chamber recognized Hotel Murano, hello,cupcake, Gintz Group and Benjii Bittle for their commitments to downtown. A complete list of past winners is available here.

The Chamber relies on our downtown community for nominations for these awards. Nominate a community leader today!
2010 New Tacoma Award winners will be recognized at the City Center Luncheon on April 16th, 2010.

The four award categories are:

Ghillarducci Award - recognizing successful new development, renovation or beautification. Past winners of this award include 505 Broadway- The Sirius Group and the Tacoma Art Museum

Union Station Award - recognizing leading organizations, companies or individuals that have built or sustained momentum for revitalization. Past winners of this award include Eric Cederstrand for sustaining momentum for revitalizations and India Mahal Restaurant for their pioneering spirit and commitment to downtown.

Popham Award, in honor of the late News Tribune Columnist Art Popham. This award recognizes the individual that has done the most to build community spirit. Past winners include Layne Alfanso of Geo Engineers and Marty Campbell of Buzzard Records and Stadium Video.

Schoenfeld Award - recognizing exemplary performance and pizzazz as a retailer. Past winners include Grassi’s Flowers & Gifts and Urban Exchange.

Award nominations are due no later than 4:30 on March 17th. Fill out the nomination form online on the Chamber’s website or print the form and return to Chelsea Levy, Metropolitan Development Manager, Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber, PO Box 1933, Tacoma WA 98401 or email:

No comments:

Post a Comment